California’s DMV Point System
Posted on Tuesday, June 23rd, 2015
The California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) uses a point system in order to rate your personal driving records. When you first get your license, you have a clean record. However, as you acquire points, you can place yourself in serious danger of getting your license taken away. The DMV possesses the right to suspend and, in extreme cases, revoke your driving privileges if you accumulate:
- 4 points within a 12 month period.
- 6 points within a 24 month period.
- 8 points within a 36 month period.
You will accumulate points on your driving record by falling guilty to any of the following:
- A minor moving violation such as speeding, unsafe lane changes, or at-fault accidents.
- Issues with your vehicle’s mechanics like a broken brake light or child safety infringement.
- Reckless driving.
- Driving with a suspended or revoked driver’s license.
- Being involved in a hit and run accident.
- Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI).
How does your driving record clear? Time will help abolish your violation points. Here is a further dissection of how long each infraction can stay on your record:
- 1 point violations are cleared within 3 years.
- Serious violations (DUI’s and hit and runs) can stay for up to 10 years.
- Failure to appear in court for your violation can stay for 5 years.
- Failure to appear in court for your DUI will stay on for 10 years.
Your local DMV will notify you if ever you have accumulated points on your driving record. At the time you have received half the points required in order to get your license taken away, the DMV will issue a warning letter. When you are a single point away from getting your license revoked, the CA DMV will send another letter stating “Notice of Intent to Suspend”. Once you have reached the suspension limit, the DMV will then issue an “Order of Probation/Suspension” letter.
Every time you renew your automobile insurance (insuring your vehicle is required by law), your insurance company maintains the right to check your driving record. If you have points on your record, it is highly likely that you will have to pay more for your insurance. If you ever want to check the status of your license, you can order a driving record report. This will verify whether or not your license is in good standing and that no errors have been made on your record.
If you have a lot of points on your record, it’s best to hire the experienced Sacramento DUI attorneys of Amerio Law Firm. Let us show you how we can help improve your driving record!
Call (916) 419-1111 now for a Free Case Evaluation.